Be content


Being **content with what you have** is of immense significance in life as it brings many blessings and peace to our hearts. The Bible contains numerous verses that guide us towards cultivating contentment in our lives. Let us reflect upon some of these profound scriptures that encourage us to embrace contentment:

1. Philippians 4:11-13: “Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through him who strengthens me.”

2. Hebrews 13:5: “Keep your life free from love of money, and be content with what you have, for he has said, ‘I will never leave you nor forsake you.'”

3. 1 Timothy 6:6-8: “But godliness with contentment is great gain, for we brought nothing into the world, and we cannot take anything out of the world. But if we have food and clothing, with these we will be content.”

4. Proverbs 30:8-9: “Remove far from me falsehood and lying; give me neither poverty nor riches; feed me with the food that is needful for me, lest I be full and deny you and say, ‘Who is the LORD?’ or lest I be poor and steal and profane the name of my God.”

5. Psalm 23:1: “The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.”

6. Matthew 6:31-33: “Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.”

Indeed, embracing contentment with what we possess allows us to recognize the abundant blessings bestowed upon us by God. It helps us avoid coveting what others have and cherish the unique gifts we are given. Through faith, we can find contentment in every situation, trusting that He will provide for our needs. Let us hold fast to the teachings of the Holy Scriptures, and may the boldness of contentment illuminate our lives.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.